This premier black-tie event, held in Washington, D.C., annually brings together the most recognizable names in civil engineering. On March 25, 2010, ASCE will honor the remarkable achievements of civil engineers over the past year by awarding five lifetime achievement awards, the Outstanding Civil Engineering Achievement (OCEA) for the year's most outstanding project, the Charles Pankow Award for Innovation, the Henry L. Michel Award for Industry Advancement of Research, and the ASCE Excellence in Journalism Award.

Celebrate this special event with ASCE on March 25, 2010 at the Renaissance Hotel Washington.

This year's event will honor these venerable civil engineers and projects:

Outstanding Projects And Leaders (OPAL) Awards

Established in 1999, these prestigious awards recognize and honor outstanding civil engineering leaders whose lifetime accomplishments and achievements have made significant differences in one of five categories.

ASCE congratulates the 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award recipients:


Richardson Headshot



Terence E. (Ed) Richardson, P.E., M.ASCE

Bechtel Corporation


For innovation and excellence in the construction of civil engineering projects and/or programs.

Tang Headshot



Man-Chung Tang, Ph.D., P.E., Hon.M.ASCE, NAE

T.Y. Lin International


For innovation and excellence in civil engineering design.

Daniel Headshot



David E. Daniel, Ph.D., P.E., Dist.M.ASCE, NAE

University of Texas at Dallas


For demonstrated excellence in advancing civil engineering education.

Morris Headshot



John W. Morris II, LTG (ret.), P.E., F.ASCE, NAE

J.W. Morris Ltd.


For demonstrated administrative skills leading to the completion of significant public works projects and/or programs.

Nichol Headshot



Robert D. Nichol, P.E., F.ASCE

Moffatt & Nichol


For demonstrating exceptional management skills in his/her professional career.


Outstanding Civil Engineering Achievement (OCEA)

ASCE annually recognizes an exemplary civil engineering project as the Outstanding Civil Engineering Achievement. Established in 1960, this prestigious award honors the project that best illustrates superior civil engineering skills and represents a significant contribution to civil engineering progress and society. Honoring an overall project rather than an individual, the award celebrates the contributions of many engineers.

The 2010 OCEA winner will be announced at the OPAL Gala.

ASCE proudly recognizes this year's five OCEA finalists:

  • Arrowhead Tunnels Project - Inland Feeder Program (San Bernardino, CA)
  • Concordia University Wisconsin Lakeshore Environmental Enhancement and Education Project (Mequon, WI)
  • Sound Transit Central Link Light Rail: Section 710 Beacon Hill Station and Tunnels (Seattle, WA)
  • Sutong Bridge (Nantong City, Jiangsu Province, China)
  • Utah State Capitol Seismic Base Isolation and Restoration (Salt Lake City, UT)

Charles Pankow Award for Innovation

Established in honor of Charles J. Pankow to celebrate collaboration in innovative design, materials, or construction-related research and development transferred into practice in a sustainable manner.

ASCE congratulates
Eco Sound Barrier
(Moon TWP, PA)

Henry L. Michel Award for Industry Advancement of Research

Established in 1996 in honor of Henry L. Michel, the award recognizes and acknowledges leaders of the design and construction industry whose dedication and aggressive vision have provided cornerstones for improving the quality of people's lives around the world through research in the design and construction industry.

ASCE congratulates
Samuel Yen-Liang Yin, Ph.D., M.ASCE

Ruentex Group


ASCE Excellence in Journalism Award

Established in 1994, the Excellence in Journalism Award honors journalists whose news coverage enhances public understanding of civil engineering.

ASCE congratulates

Henry Schipper