2000 Honorary Member Class



Larry J. Feeser, Ph.D., P.E.

For the advancement of engineering education and practice through innovative development and successful implementation of the first ever integration of interactive computer graphics into engineering curricula, an achievement subsequently replicated throughout the world.


Emmett M. Laursen

Internationally recognized for his pioneering research in sediment transport and scour and as a dedicated educator who gives unselfishly to his students and to the profession.


Seng-Lip Lee

For his contributions to civil engineering research and teaching in structural and geotechnical engineering, for his publications numbering over 500, and for his work with students in the United States and in Southeast Asia.


Herbert S. Saffir, P.E., L.S.

For research and development of wind-damage analysis on structures, and for the creation of the "Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Scale" for the United Nations, now used extensively by emergency management organizations throughout the United States and in locations as far away as Guam and Australia.


Mostafa M. Soliman, P.E.

For his pioneering efforts in the evolution of water quality protection, reuse and capacity building in the Middle East, Europe and the United States, and for his long career devoted to educating and mentoring progressive engineers.


Julian V. Sollohub, P.E.

For his ability to manage complex engineering projects under stressful circumstances in the cause of both national defense and national engineering, and a 49-year career serving as a role model for other engineers.